< News & Events : Print :

Please Join Us in Honoring our 2016 Pro Bono Volunteers

CTLP has long recognized that the backbone of our program to protect the rights of Virginia’s low- and moderate-income taxpayers is the strong and continuous support we receive from the tax professionals – attorneys, CPAs, and enrolled agents – who comprise our Pro Bono Panel. Their generosity enables us to provide assistance to approximately 1,000 taxpayers annually. The following tax professionals, advisers, law student interns, and administrative volunteers who have assisted CTLP clients during the past year are representative of the commitment and generosity shared by all of CTLP’s volunteers.

Outstanding Firms

For any pro bono activity to succeed, the firms which employ tax professionals must have a commitment to the spirit of pro bono. CTLP has been fortunate to have formed partnerships with firms in Virginia and Washington, DC whose commitment to giving back to their communities is particularly noteworthy. For 2016, we extend special thanks to these partner firms:

Hunton & Williams, LLP, Richmond, VA, and Washington, DC
McGuireWoods, LLP, Richmond, VA
Moss & Riggs, PLLC, Williamsburg, VA
Rue & Associates, Richmond, VA
Skadden, Washington, DC
The Tax Complex, Richmond, VA

2016 Pro Bono Volunteers

The following attorneys, CPAs, EAs, and firms provided assistance in 69 cases referred by CTLP.  Each one of them deserves recognition for their generosity and professionalism.

  • Peter Anthony
  • Craig D. Bell
  • William Brown
  • James Chapman
  • Daniel Chung
  • Michael Cranston
  • Guy Crowgey
  • Barbara Ebert
  • Kate D.  Fletcher
  • Frances F. Goldman
  • Caroline Hansen
  • Geoffrey Hemphill
  • Flora Hezel
  • Denise Holmes
  • Timothy Jacobs
  • Binafar Jaigirdar
  • Christopher Johnson
  • Laura Ellen Jones
  • Alice Justice
  • Dana Kosky
  • Jeff Lipsey
  • Bill Lowrance
  • Scott Masselli
  • Judith Mather
  • William B. May, Jr.
  • Robert Miller
  • Matthew T. Moss
  • Jay Nanavati
  • Raymond Nations
  • Thomas Nesbitt
  • Bradley Ridlehoover
  • Michelle Rifici
  • Steve Rue and the team
  •   at Rue & Associates
  • Charles Saunders
  • Margaret Smith
  • Robert Stenzhorn
  • David Tanner
  • J. Christian Tennant
  • Robert Vaughan, III
  • Matthew Von Schuch
  • Natalie Walet
  • Robert Warwick
  • Eula Williams
  • Maura Winston
  • Edwin Wu


CTLP is indebted to its Board and Advisory Board members who make time to advise staff and work behind the scenes to help CTLP achieve its mission.

CTLP Board of Directors

  • Flora T. Hezel,
  •   President
  • Christopher S. Johnson,
  •   Vice-president
  • Denise M. Holmes,
  •   Treasurer
  • Bradley Ridlehoover
  •   Secretary
  • Elaina Blanks-Green
  • Matthew Cooper
  • Nick Harrison
  • Timothy L. Jacobs
  • William J. Lagos, Jr.
  • Matthew T. Moss
  • Mark J. Nelson
  • Robert A. Warwick
  • Kyle H. Wingfield
  • Maura K. Winston
  • Joshua C. Wykle

CTLP Advisory Board

  • Elizabeth J. Atkinson
  • Craig D. Bell
  • Neil Birkhoff
  • Samuel A. Derieux
  • John W. Flora
  • Frances F. Goldman
  • J. William Gray, Jr.

Law Student Interns and Administrative Volunteers

In addition, CTLP salutes an outstanding group of law student interns and administrative volunteers who make our day-to-day work possible.

  • Michelle Chionchio
  • Phil Demanchik
  • Kimberly Fricker
  • Anne Hayes
  • Blair Mathias
  • Danielle Mayfield

Each year, CTLP volunteers demonstrate their commitment to achieving justice and fairness for the working poor in our state and federal tax systems by their generous donation of time and expertise to CTLP’s important work. Thank you for your outstanding service on behalf of Virginia’s low-income families.